Welcome   |   Greeting   |   Family   |   History   |   Actual   |   Order of St. Henry   |   Vision   |   Archive   |  Contact   |   Legal Notice 

 
 
   
   
 
         
         
 
 

 

 

St. Henry’s Badge of honour

The St. Henry’s Badge of honour can be awarded yearly to chosen personalities only by the Head of the House of Wettin.

With the end of the Kingdom of Saxony in 1918 and the taking effect of the Weimar Constitution of 1919, the hitherto existing Military Order of St. Henry went into abeyance. During its continuance from 1736 to 1914, the St. Henry's Medal was awarded only 736 times. On 31 December 1963, on the occasion of the 70th Birthday of Margrave Friedrich Christian of Meissen, the "St. Henry Badge of honour with Crown" was donated instead.

The Order's patron is – following the tradition of German dynasties – Henry IV (from 995 to 1004 and from 1009 to 1017 Duke of Bavaria and as Henry II from 1002 to 1024 King of the East Frankish Empire and from 1014 to 1024 Emperor of the Holy Roman Empire).

Link to the St. Henry’s Badge of honour

 

Order of St. Henry

The Order of St. Henry is, since its inception, an essential element of our family’s history. Founded by Elector Frederic August II of Saxony, who was also King August III of Poland-Lithuania, on 7 October 1736 the Order adjusted and refined itself several times.

The spirit and orientation of the Order's purpose was recast from its original emphasis of valour and military merit to the pursuit of moral ideas and civic values.

Owing to the eponymous Emperor Henry II, the spiritual home of the Order lies in Bamberg, with its patron being interred in Bamberg cathedral. On the other hand the order is – not least due to the history of Saxony – closely linked to the city of Dresden. In that, the Order of St. Henry forms a bridge between Bavaria and Saxony.

Link to the Order of St. Henry

   
 
 

 


 

Av. de Sully 102 · CH-1814 La Tour de Peilz · Tel: +49 (0) 351 - 810 62 23 · Fax: +49 (0) 3212 - 119 98 33
E-Mail: info@markgraf-von-meissen.de

Willkommen   |   Grusswort   |   Familie   |   Geschichte   |   Aktuelles   |   St. Heinrichs Orden   |   Vision   |   Archiv   |  Kontakt   |   Impressum 

 
 
   
   
 
         
         
 
 

 

 

St. Heinrichs Nadel

Die St.-Heinrichs-Nadel kann jährlich an ausgewählte Persönlichkeiten nur durch den Chef der Familie Wettin verliehen werden.

Mit Ende des Königreiches Sachsen 1918 und dem Inkrafttreten der Weimarer Reichsverfassung im Jahr 1919 endete die Geschichte des bis dahin bestehenden Militär-St.-Heinrichs-Ordens, der in der Zeit von 1736 bis 1914 nur 736 mal verliehen wurde. Ihm folgte am 31. Dezember 1963 anlässlich des 70. Geburtstags von Markgraf Friedrich Christian die als „Friedensklasse“ des Ordens gestiftete „St.-Heinrichs-Nadel mit Krone“.

Ordens-Schutzherr ist – der langen Tradition deutscher Herrscherhäuser folgend – Heinrich IV. (von 995 bis 1004 und 1009 bis 1017 Herzog zu Bayern), der als Heinrich II. von 1002 bis 1024 König des Ostfränkischen Reiches und von 1014 bis 1024 Kaiser des Heiligen Römischen Reiches deutscher Nation war.
 

Link zur St. Heinrichs Nadel

 

Der St. Heinrichs Orden

Der St.-Heinrichs-Orden ist von seiner Gründung an ein traditionsreicher Bestandteil der Geschichte unserer Familie. Seit seiner Stiftung durch Kurfürst Friedrich August II. von Sachsen und zugleich König August III. von Polen – Litauen am 7. Oktober 1736 änderten sich die Ordensbestimmungen mehrfach.

Der geistige Inhalt des Ordens wurde neu belebt und von der Betonung kriegerischer Verdienste auf die Erfüllung sittlicher Ideale und Pflichten zurückgeführt.

Heimstätte des Ordens ist Bamberg - verbunden mit der Grablege des Schutzherren und Namensgebers Kaiser Heinrich II. im Dom zu Bamberg. Aber auch mit der Landeshauptstadt Dresden spannt der Orden eine Brücke zwischen Bayern und Sachsen.

Link zum St. Heinrichs Orden

   
 
 

 


 

Av. de Sully 102 · CH-1814 La Tour de Peilz · Tel: +49 (0) 351 - 810 62 23 · Fax: +49 (0) 3212 - 119 98 33
E-Mail: info@markgraf-von-meissen.de