Welcome   |   Greeting   |   Family   |   History   |   Actual   |   Order of St. Henry   |   Vision   |   Archive   |  Contact   |   Legal Notice 

 
 
   
   
   
 
 

     

 

 
     

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Prince Alexander of Saxony Duke of Saxony
Margrave of Meissen
 

Prince Alexander of Saxony Duke of Saxony (* 12 February 1953) is a member and the Head of the former ruling House of Wettin, which governed Saxony from 1089 to 1918. He was adopted by his maternal uncle, Margrave Maria Emanuel of Meissen, the former Head of the Royal House, on 26 May 1999. Two years before, Margrave Alexander had been named his personal heir. When Margrave Maria Emanuel of Meissen died on 23 July 2012, Prince Alexander became Head of the Royal House of Wettin.

 

Biography

 

Prince Alexander of Saxony was born in Munich as eldest son of Doctor Prince Roberto Alexander de Gessaphe and Princess Maria Anna of Saxony Duchess of Saxony. He attended the Jesuit College “Instituto Patria” in Mexico and the Jesuit boarding school “Kolleg St. Blasien” (grammar school) in the Black Forest, Germany. Margrave Alexander studied Business Economics at the Ludwig-Maximilians-University of Munich. Together with his family, he lived for 30 years in Mexico. There he is managing partner of “apycsa logistics, s.a. de c.v. Logistics Group”. In 1994, he studied at the top management university “Instituto Panamericano de Alta Dirección de Empresa” (IPADE) in Mexico City and subsequently took over an honorary teaching assignment at this institute for five years.

 

Margrave Alexander is married to Princess Gisela of Bavaria (* 10 September 1964) since 1987: They married civilly on 3 April 1987 in Mexico City; the religious marriage ceremony took place on 29 August 1987 in Andechs Abbey, Upper Bavaria. Together, they have four children:

  • Prince Georg Philipp Antonius of Saxony Duke of Saxony (* 24 May 1988, Mexico City)
     

  • Prince Mauricio Gabriel Robert of Saxony Duke of Saxony (* 14 September 1989, Mexico City)
     

  • Prince Paul Clemens Bernard Mansur of Saxony Duke of Saxony (* 23 March 1993, Mexico City)
     

  • Princess Maria Teresita Anna Luise Caroline Lucardis of Saxony Duchess of Saxony (* 7. July 1999, Dresden)

  •  

In addition to his business activities, Prince Alexander operates as adviser to establish German companies in Central America as well as in Latin America. He furthermore advises German and European companies in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Guatemala, Mexico and the Arab Emirates in the fields of market expansions and market development. From 2003 to 2008, he worked at the Saxon State Chancellery as an adviser to Professor Doctor Georg Milbradt, dealing with issues related to international, diplomatic and cultural affairs of the Prime Minister of Saxony.

 

Margrave Maria Emanuel of Meissen had no children, he nominated the son of his sister Princess Maria Anna – Margrave Alexander – for his immediate successor on 18 May 1997. Furthermore, Margrave Maria Emanuel legally adopted his nephew, the current Margrave Alexander, on 26 September 1999.

 

All members of the Royal House of Wettin, in person or validly represented, agreed to this decision. Margrave Maria Emanuel’s ruling corresponds to the requirements established by the Statute of the “Verein Haus Wettin Albertinische Linie e.V.” (House of Wettin Albertine Line Association). This Statute has validly replaced the former House Law of 1837. Therefore, the regulation of succession is consistent with the Civil Code of Germany, the traditional Statutes of the Princes of the German Empire as well as the House Law of the House of Wettin.

 

Margrave Alexander of Meissen became Head of the House of Wettin upon the death of Margrave Maria Emanuel of Meissen on 23 July 2012.

 

 

Orders and memberships

 

Margrave Alexander belongs to the founding circle and is President of the „Freunde des Grünen Gewölbes e.V.“ (Friends of the Green Vault Association). Amongst the goals to be targeted there is the acquisition of fine art objects in order to provide them to the museum as permanent loan. Margrave Alexander is President and Chancellor of the Order of St. Henry.

 

Prince Alexander is an Honorary Consul of the Kingdom of Spain in Dresden, Germany. By his work as Honorary Consul he wants to improve the communication between Saxony / Thuringia / Germany and Spain as well as the states and regions of Central und Latin America, with whom he is strongly associated due to his personal history. In addition to his native languages German and Spanish, Margrave Alexander is fluent in French and English. He is member of the Academie des Lettres et des Arts in Versailles, France, und Chevalier de la Confrérie de Tastevin, Beaune, Burgundy, France. In 2012, he was appointed Knight and Bearer of the Order of the Golden Fleece by its Sovereign, Archduke Karl of Habsburg.

 

 

Parents

 

Prince Roberto Alexander de Gessaphe (* 30 November 1916,
† 13 December 1978 in Mexico City). He married on 1 May 1952 in Paris

Princess Maria Anna Josefa of Saxony Duchess of Saxony
(* 13 December 1929 in Bad Wörishofen, † 13 March 2012 in Munich).

 

Brothers

Prince Friedrich Wilhelm of Saxe-Gessaphe
(* 5 October 1955 in Mexico City), interior designer, art expert and decorator

 

Prince Karl August of Saxe-Gessaphe (* 1 January 1958 in Mexico City), University Professor of Law

 

TOP  

Av. de Sully 102 · CH-1814 La Tour de Peilz · Tel: +49 (0) 351 - 810 62 23 · Fax: +49 (0) 3212 - 119 98 33
E-Mail: info@markgraf-von-meissen.de

Willkommen   |   Grusswort   |   Familie   |   Geschichte   |   Aktuelles   |   St. Heinrichs Orden   |   Vision   |   Archiv   |  Kontakt   |   Impressum 

 
 
   
   
   
 
 

     

 

 
     

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Alexander Prinz von Sachsen Herzog zu Sachsen
Markgraf von Meissen

Alexander Prinz von Sachsen Herzog zu Sachsen (*12. Februar 1953) ist Mitglied des ehemaligen regierenden Hauses Wettin, welches Sachsen von 1089 bis 1918 führte, und Chef des Hauses. Er wurde vom damaligen Chef des Hauses, seinem Onkel Maria Emanuel Markgraf von Meißen, am 26. Mai 1999 adoptiert und bereits zwei Jahre zuvor von ihm als Erbe eingesetzt. Mit dem Tod von Markgraf Maria Emanuel von Meissen am 23. Juli 2012 trat Markgraf Alexander von Meissen die Nachfolge als Oberhaupt des Hauses an.
 

Biographie

Alexander Prinz von Sachsen wurde als ältester Sohn von Dr. jur. Roberto Alexander Prince de Gessaphe und Prinzessin Maria Anna von Sachsen Herzogin von Sachsen in München geboren. Er besuchte die Jesuitenschule „Instituto Patria“ in Mexiko Stadt, das Gymnasium absolvierte er im Jesuiteninternat „Kolleg St. Blasien“ im Schwarzwald. Er studierte Betriebswirtschaft an der Ludwig Maximilians Universität in München und lebte 30 Jahre lang mit seiner Familie in Mexico, wo er geschäftsführender Gesellschafter der apycsa logistics, s.a. de c.v. Logistik Gruppe ist. 1994 studierte er an der Top Management Universität „Instituto Panamericano de Alta Dirección de Empresa“ IPADE in Mexiko City und übernahm anschließend einen ehrenamtlichen Lehrauftrag für fünf Jahre an diesem Institut.

Er ist verheiratet mit Gisela Prinzessin von Bayern (*10. September 1964). Die standesamtliche Trauung fand am 3. April 1987 in Mexico City, die kirchliche am 29. August 1987 in Andechs, in Oberbayern, statt. Gemeinsam haben sie vier Kinder:

  • Georg Philipp Antonius Prinz von Sachsen Herzog zu Sachsen (*24. Mai 1988, in Mexico Stadt)

  • Mauricio
     Gabriel Roberto Prinz von Sachsen Herzog zu Sachsen
     (*14. September 1989, in Mexico Stadt)

  • Paul Clemens Bernard Mansur Prinz von Sachsen Herzog zu Sachsen 
    (*23. März 1993, in Mexico Stadt)

  • Maria Teresita Anna Luise Caroline Lucardis  Prinzessin von Sachsen Herzogin zu Sachsen
     (*7. Juli 1999, in Dresden)

Er ist neben seiner unternehmerischen Tätigkeit in Mexiko in Deutschland als Berater im Bereich der Unternehmensansiedlung deutscher Firmen in Mittel- und Lateinamerika tätig. Darüber hinaus unterstützt er beratend Markterweiterungen und -erschließungen deutscher wie auch europäischer Firmen in Argentinien, Brasilien, Chile, Guatemala, Mexico und den Arabischen Emiraten. Von 2003 bis 2008 war er Berater für internationale, diplomatische und kulturelle Angelegenheiten des Ministerpräsidenten des Freistaates Sachsen, Prof. Dr. Georg Milbradt, in der sächsischen Staatskanzlei.

 

Chef des Hauses
seit 23. Juli 2012

Am 18. Mai 1997 ernannte Markgraf Maria Emanuel, der selbst kinderlos blieb, mit Markgraf Alexander den Sohn seiner Schwester Prinzessin Maria Anna zum Nachfolger im Amt als Chef des Hauses. Darüber hinaus adoptierte am 26. Mai 1999 Markgraf Maria Emanuel Markgraf Alexander.

Dieser Entscheidung stimmten alle Mitglieder des Hauses Wettin persönlich oder wirksam vertreten zu . Sie entspricht den Vorgaben der Satzung des Vereins Haus Wettin Albertinische Linie von 1922, welche wirksam an die Stelle des vormaligen Hausgesetzes von 1837 getreten ist. Damit steht die Nachfolgeregelung im Einklang sowohl mit dem früheren deutschen Fürstenrecht als auch mit dem geltenden Bürgerlichen Gesetzbuch der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. (vgl. Die Rolle des Markgrafen als Chef des Hauses)

Mit dem Tod von Markgraf Maria Emanuel von Meissen trat Markgraf Alexander von Meissen an 23. Juli 2012 das Amt als Chef des Hauses Wettin an.

 

Orden und Mitgliedschaften

Alexander Prinz von Sachsen gehört dem Gründerkreis der „Freunde des Grünen Gewölbes e.V.“ an. Er leitet diesen Kreis als Präsident. Zu den Zielen dieser Vereinigung gehört der Erwerb von Kunstgegenständen, um diese als Dauerleihgaben dem Museum zur Verfügung zu stellen. Er ist Präsident und Ordensherr des St. Heinrichs Orden.

Prinz Alexander ist Honorarkonsul des Königreichs Spanien und sieht sein Wirken in einem Ausbau der Kommunikation zwischen Sachsen / Thüringen / Deutschland und Spanien, sowie allen Ländern und Regionen Mittel- und Lateinamerikas, denen er durch seine persönliche Geschichte stark verbunden ist. Er spricht neben seinen beiden Muttersprachen Deutsch und Spanisch fließend Französisch und Englisch. Er ist Mitglied der Academie des Lettres et des Arts in Versailles, Frankreich, und Chevalier de la Confrérie de Tastevin, Beaune, Burgund, Frankreich. Im Jahr 2012 wurde er von Erzherzog Karl als Souverän des Goldenen Vlies in Wien zum Ritter und Träger des Ordens vom Goldenen Vlies ernannt. 

 

Eltern

Roberto Alexander Prince de Gessaphe (* 30. November 1916, + 13. Dezember 1978 in Mexiko City). Er heiratet am 1. Mai 1952 in Paris

Maria Anna Josefa Prinzessin von Sachsen Herzogin zu Sachsen (* 13. Dezember 1929 in Bad Wörishofen, +13. März 2012 in München)

 

Brüder

Friedrich Wilhelm Prinz von Sachsen-Gessaphe 
(* 5. Oktober 1955 in Mexiko Stadt), Innenarchitekt, Dekorateur und Kunstexperte

Karl August Prinz von Sachsen-Gessaphe (*1. Januar 1958 in Mexiko Stadt), Universitätsprofessor der Jurisprudenz

 

 

 

TOP  
 

Av. de Sully 102 · CH-1814 La Tour de Peilz · Tel: +49 (0) 351 - 810 62 23 · Fax: +49 (0) 3212 - 119 98 33
E-Mail: info@markgraf-von-meissen.de